• Saturday Night Swingout
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 @ 08:00 PM
    Location: 460 Main St - Ted Motyka's Dance Studio
  • Beginner Charleston
    Tuesday, October 24, 2017 @ 06:00 PM
    Location: Room 201 St. John's College
  • Beginner Jive
    Tuesday, October 24, 2017 @ 07:30 PM
    Location: Room 201 St. John's College
  • Beginner 6-Count Lindy Hop
    Wednesday, October 25, 2017 @ 06:00 PM
    Location: Room 201 St. John's College
  • Beginner 8-Count Lindy Hop
    Wednesday, October 25, 2017 @ 07:30 PM
    Location: Room 201 St. John's College
Header-left Header-right


The University of Manitoba Swing Dance Club (UMSwing) is an entirely student-run organization that operates under the umbrella of the University of Manitoba Student's Union (UMSU). UMSwing is non-profit and works towards being able to provide affordable dance lesson to students and non-students. Although the majority of members are students, UMSwing is open to everyone and boasts members of all ages and skill levels. Founded in 2000, UMSwing is celebrating 15 years of introducing people of all ages and experiences levels to swing dancing. UMSwing welcomes anyone of any ages, even those who think they have two left feet or cannot dance, and they welcome the opportunity to prove you wrong!

Lessons and Events

UMSwing offers a large variety of lessons and social events year-round. If this is your first time learning to dance, we offer beginner lessons in Jive and Lindy Hop. For more intermediate dancers, we offer Intermediate Lindy Hop, Charleston, Balboa. Other styles that we teach include Swing Rueda, West Coast Swing, Blues, and Aerials. Whether you want to fly high with some Aerials, get a great workout from Charleston, or learn some sociable Lindy Hop, UMSwing has something for you to get you interested, having fun, and meeting new people in no time!


March 18th
UMSwing is hosting a fundraiser! In place of saturday night Swing - out on March 18th, 2017 and for those who pockets are to empty to go to PLEX. Cover is free but we will be taking donations in the form of a hand full of coins (recommended donation 2$). Our goal is to fill up Smiles the piggy bank. There will be a dance lesson at 8pm taught by your friendly neighborhood exec. Followed by a ton of dancing in fireside lounge on campus. It is in University Center on the bottom floor it's an open space so if you can't see us you will definitely hear us :)

All proceeds go towards making UMSwing the awesome club that it is, and towards our april 1st event to make it the biggest thing since sliced bread! we will also have tickets for sale!

We will be starting the night with the jumpier tunes perfect for lindy hop, jive, and charleston, then transitioning to blues for later in the night. These are a rough guidelines for the music themes. Want to DJ? 30 minute shifts are available. All you need is your music and a desire to share no experience required. Contact promotions@umswing.ca with the type of music you want to play if you want a shift. First come first serve.

April 1st

UMSwing is invading the Saturday Night Swingout April 1st! We do not come empty handed. In our Dance bag is the South's Side Big Band. What could be better than a band for dancing? Themes that's what. This Dance will be a formal masquerade, costume contest included! Prizes, games, and contests are all apart of the fun to be had to this magical night!

Night Schedule
8pm Dance Lesson
9pm Dance + Band

Tickets available March 1st, $15 in advance, $20 at the doors
Get at the Regular Saturday Night Swing Out, ANSWERS at the University of Manitoba in University Center, from any UMSwing Exec, and at UMSwing classes.

Where? Ted Motikas Dance Studio. look for the fox and fiddle on main street. Walk to the backside of the building. Go in the big pink door.

contact umswing@gmail.com for more